MMFF 2014 Full List of Winners

Photo Credit:

Robin Padilla's "Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo" emerged as this year's Best Picture while "English Only, Please" lead stars Derek Ramsay and Jennylyn Mercado won the Best Actor and Best Actress  awards respectively in the 40th Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) awards night held at the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC) Saturday, December 27.

The romantic-comedy film "English Only, Please" also bagged the awards for Best Director (Dan Villegas), Best Screenplay (Antoinette Jadaone), Best Original Story (Dan Villegas and Antoinette Jadaone), Best Editing (Marya Ignacio) and the Second Best Picture making it the big winner in this year's movie festival.

"Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo" also got the Youth Choice Award, Best Festival Sound Engineering, Best Musical Score, Best Original Theme Song, Best Cinematography (Carlo Mendoza), FPJ Memorial Award for Film Excellence and the Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award.

This year's Third Best Picture went to Dingdong Dantes-starrer "Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2" which also happens to received other technical awards such as Best Makeup, Best Visual Effects (Mothership Inc.) and Best Production Design (Ericsson Navarro). Its stars Joey Marquez and Lotlot de Leon snatched the Best Supporting Actor and Best Supporting Actress respectively.

This year's top grossers, Vice Ganda's “The Amazing Praybeyt Benjamin” and Kris Aquino's “Feng Shui 2”, went home empty-handed while Vic Sotto's "My Big Bossing" got the Best Child Performer award for Ryzza Mae Dizon.

The other movies that participated in the mainstream category of the film festival, Regal Films' "Shake, Rattle and Roll XV" and Viva Films' "Muslim Magnum .357", both didn't get a single recognition.

See the other awards including those for the New Wave category below:

New Wave:

New Wave Best Picture: “Magkakabaung”
New Wave Special Jury Prize: “M: Mother's Maiden Name”
New Wave Best Actor: Allen Dizon “Magkakabaung”
New Wave Best Actress: Zsa Zsa Padilla for “M: Mother's Maiden Name”
New Wave Best Director: Jason Paul Laxamana “Magkakabaung”
New Wave Best Supporting Actor: Kristoffer King for “Maratabat”
New Wave Best Supporting Actress: Gloria Sevilla “M: Mother's Maiden Name”
New Wave Short Film Special Jury Prize: “Kalaw” by Asia Pacific Institute

Special Awards:

Commemorative Award: Manila Mayor Joseph Ejercito-Estrada
Female Face of the Night: Nadine Lustre
Share on Google Plus

About Dear Hiraya


Post a Comment